ACB Advisory Council appointments

The Association of Concert Bands is honored to have an Advisory Council comprised of leaders in the music industry.  This May, three new members were appointed to the Advisory Council:  Larry Daehn, Johan de Meij, and Andrew Glover.

Larry Daehn’s 35-year music career included teaching instrumental, vocal, and classroom music in Wisconsin schools.  Daehn is a member of MENC, ASBDA, Wisconsin Bandmasters Association, The Percy Grainger Society, and Phi Beta Mu.  He was chosen for Leaders of American Education in l97l, and was named Outstanding Bandmaster by Phi Beta Mu Pi Chapter in l988.  His articles have appeared in The Instrumentalist and Bandworld magazines.  

Johan de Meij studied trombone and conducting at the Royal Conservatory of Music in The Hague. He has earned international fame as a composer and arranger. Besides composing and arranging, Johan de Meij is active as a performer, conductor, adjudicator and lecturer. As a trombone and euphonium player he has performed with the major orchestras and ensembles in The Netherlands. He has conducted some of the leading wind orchestras of Europe, Asia, North and South America and has led master classes around the world.

Andrew Glover joined the staff of the C. L. Barnhouse Company in 1998 and serves as staff composer, arranger, editor, and Chief Operating Officer. Previously, Glover taught instrumental music in the St. Louis area. He received a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Central Methodist University and did graduate work at Southeast Missouri State University. As a composer and arranger, Glover has over 200 works to his credit. He is a member of several music associations, including ASCAP, and serves as conductor of the Windjammers, Unlimited Education Band.

These new members join Chuck Barnhouse, John Bourgeiois, Lewis Buckley, James Christensen, Ronald Demkee, Roy Ernst, Robert Foster, Arnald Gabriel, Lowell Graham, Gabe Ireland, David McCormick, and Erica Neidlinger to form our Advisory Council. The ACB welcomes these new members and thanks all of the Advisory Council members for their support.